The Best Dating Advice I Ever Got

Okay, so I’ve dated before and it went something like this: You thought I was cute, and I thought you were cute so than we would hang out and eventually become a thing. A few months, a year or two pass,  there’s a fall out.  I lock myself in my room with my friends Tom and Jerry and watch romantic flicks until you no longer exist. I eventually get over the person until I met another guy and the cycle begins again. 

Ugh. Who invented that type of dating?

I am going to share with you something that some people may not like. It’s against our “follow your heart” culture. If you’ve had bad dating experiences below, take caution of the following.

If you never thought God was interested in your dating life that means that you don’t know God at all

The best dating advice I ever received was from a sister at my church. I asked her about a guy who wanted to pursue me. He messaged me a few times, and I knew he wanted to hang out. He didn’t know Jesus but he seemed cool and maybe it could lead to a friendship. 

She stared at me and said I would be crazy to think a guy wants only a friendship. He is definitely interested. She shared with me her experience of a young man pursuing her. She prayed and asked God for discernment to date him or not. The answer was no and she responded to the guy with humility and said if they can be friends. Now, she is married to another man with kids and he is happily married to another woman with a beautiful family.

You heard that ladies and gents?

We can ask God help in choosing whom to date. God will respond with a yes, a no or a “not right now.”

Instead of relying on our emotions of that day to guide your decision making, ask the Lord for discernment. Even if you’re interested in a girl or guy, ask God for guidance in deciding if that’s the girl you will pursue or the guy that will pursue you.

Pray for yourself. 

Pray for the person you may be interested. 

A lot of women are pretty and men are good looking but looks fade and bodies melt away. 

And if God’s response is no, great! Keep working on yourself. Continuing serving the Lord with joy. Know that God has protected you from a relationship that would have not been good for you or the other person. 

God is so good. Remember that. He wants good for you. His will is perfect. Trust Him. 

Promises to guard yourself with:

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13

“Get wisdom, get understanding; do not forget my words or turn away from them.” Proverbs‬ ‭4:5‬ ‭NIV‬‬

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs‬ ‭3:5-6‬ ‭NIV‬‬

“But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”” 1 Peter‬ ‭1:15-16‬ ‭NIV‬‬

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6:33‬ ‭

Leave a Reply

