A New Spring Wardrobe

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” ‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭5:17‬ ‭ESV ‬‬(Emphasis on the old is gone and the new has come) 

Last week I helped my sister purchase a new spring wardrobe. Towards the end of the night, she went home with a cute light-pink trench coat, a couple of dress pants, floral and basic blouses and a navy shawl with a jeweled bee broche. We ran out of time for heels though, but that will be for another day. 

The next few days my sister debuted her new wardrobe and never looked so stylish. I noted her confidence, good mood and comfort. Not to mention she received compliments from her colorful blouses and shawl. She was a like new person.

What happened to the old clothes? My sister  donated them to the Salvation Army. She saw no need for them anymore because the new clothes replaced the old clothes. The old clothes would be too much clutter. Maybe she will be tempted to wear the old clothes again because it’s still in her closet. 

I do that too sometimes– I am tempted to be the “old me” I got rid of five years ago. 

The past drama resurfaces. 

Old habits start lingering. 

Insecure thoughts begin to pop up again in my mind.

Soon, I begin to act as though Christ’s crucifiction and His resurrection never had an impact on my life.

I become the old self again, living for myself and not considering what God thinks. 

Ouch. 

Let us hold on to the promise: “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a NEW CREATION…” 

God’s glorious mighty power is greater than anything we face. That same power dwells in us. 

We’ve gained a permanent all-season wardrobe when we choose to live in Christ. 

We are forgiven of our sins. Forget the old self and live as a new person!

Out of love, Jesus took our place and paid our debt. 

He loves you! It’s not cliche. 

It’s never said enough how much God loves us. And we did nothing to deserve it. He is so gracious and filled with mercy. He is patient with us when we can’t even understand why but offers the gift of eternal life with Him freely. 

Put on the new wardrobe and never take it off! 

Leave a Reply

