When we Don’t Know What Path to Take, Remember God’s Promises

‘This is what the Lord says– your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is good for you and leads you along the paths you should follow'”– Isaiah 48:17

Last week my mind clouded with questions about my career.

Me: Should I get a Master’s in Human Resource Management?

Me: I think God wants me to move all the way to Kentucky and attend seminary. Maybe I’ll meet future husband there.

Me: The Human Resource Master’s program seems promising. After graduating, they place you in a full -time job. I could attend for two years and work a part-time job to pay off my car and bills.

Me: I think that’s what you want, Lord. It seems like the best plan.

My thoughts were all about me last week. My prayers went something like, “Hi God, I am planning to go back to school. I’m having trouble deciding which school and career to pursue. Can you help a sista out? I think you’re asking me to stop serving in church ministry and go to school full time. After I graduate, I can get a full-time job and get a manager’s position in a fortune 500 company and touch their lives with the gospel.”

My friend, don’t judge me. I was head over heels about planning my career and which path to take. I thought my plans were leading me to where God wants me best.

A few days ago, my congregation threw a Vintage Tea Party. The theme was Women After God’s Heart. The invited speaker and dear friend brushed on a few topics that drew me in like an action movie.

The Lord spoke loudly to me. I was:

  • Lacking contentment
  • Misplacing my priorities and gifts to serve myself instead of serving His kingdom
  • Trusting in my own wisdom

My heart and mind isn’t content because I want more. The world says I need more stuff, but God asks, “Am I not enough for you?” Instead of filling our houses with TVs and istuff (more distractions), choose to fill your house with God’s word. Allow God to mold your heart to a content heart. Because when we are content with what we have, we don’t chase after the wind, instead we chase our purpose in life. After all, contentment is great gain.

I searched desperately for a better job or school hoping God will give the green light that I forgot to plan a kids Sunday school lesson. I was too busy planning my future. The kids can learn about Jesus next week.

Ugh, I was out of control. I wanted to know and plan everything just like my life is supposed to go. But God called me to serve where I am.

The best time to serve God is now.

God’s Word says, “For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: “He catches the wise in their craftiness”- 1 Corinthians 3:19

Remember how I said God spoke loudly to me at the vintage party? The speaker shared how a PhD, doctorate or Masters will never grant you the wisdom your heart desires. Pure wisdom comes from above. The wisdom from this world and culture is foolishness. I felt like I betrayed God by trusting myself. I stopped believing His word and trusting He has purpose for where I am right now.

God’s Word promises wisdom to His children in the Amplified version: If any of you lacks wisdom [to guide him through a decision or circumstance], he is to ask of [our benevolent] God, who gives to everyone generously and without rebuke or blame, and it will be given to him- James 1:5

I’m praying for wisdom, friends. Won’t you pray with me? This is a season of teaching. Are you caught at a crossroads? Leave a comment. I would like to pray with you.

God’s Promise: Seek me and you will find me when you seek me with all your heart”-  Jeremiah 29:13

IMG_3044

Two beautiful sisters and I at the vintage tea party. What a fun time!

IMG_3029

Invited speaker and friend, Margie

2 comments

  1. Hi friend!
    You are so right.
    We need to do what God is asking us to do.
    We need to trust and believe that God has our future in our hands and as we do His work He is the One who will make a way for us.
    This post blessed me.
    Bless you

    Rolain

Leave a Reply

