Unexpected assignments from God

We ended our church’s vacation bible school with a celebration night filled with music and connecting with new friends and family. It was a privilege serving as assistant director this year. I didn’t think it would have been such rewarding but God changed my perspective.

Every year, I’ve served as a VBS teacher. I prepared myself weeks in advance and prayed for the little ones that would come running through my door. This year’s VBS, I served as an assistant to the VBS director. I said wherever you need help in, I’ll serve there. 

Day 3 at VBS, I felt a bit useless because I thought I thought if I wasn’t teaching, I wasn’t contributing. I was wrong. I’m not sure why I had a bad mentality and attitude but it was obviously a lie. It wasn’t from God. It did not please him. Maybe my insecurities got in the way or maybe the enemy tried to throw arrows of doubt in my head– either way, I wasn’t useless.

As an assistant I: 

  • Encouraged volunteers and teachers
  • Cleaned up a bloody wound for a little girl 
  • Delegated responsibilities to helpers
  • Support for VBS director 
  • Filled goodie bags with candy for appreciation gifts to workers and volunteers
  • Trained teen volunteers

Anyone can fill goodie bags with candy for appreciation gifts to volunteers and teachers. Anyone can organize a celebration night and clean up a little girl’s wound.

I only knew after VBS ended why I was placed specifically in the assistant director position. 

God assigned me for that week were two things: encouragement and support. God knew what issues were going to transpire and he needed two heads for sound minded decisions instead of one. God knew which parent needed encouragement and I happened to be sitting right next to them. God knew the support needed for the director and leaders. 

God knows beforehand what our church needed to better serve the community and share the good news with parents, children and even remind ourselves of our redemption. 

Nine young were saved. Praise God! All the effort and preparation were for a purpose. We’ve welcome 9 youth into the family of God. What joy! 

I thank God for an amazing opportunity to serve in different role. You see, God prepares us in advance for kingdom things. The assignments can be small at first but then The big God sized assignments come your way! 

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do”– Ephesians 2:10

Leave a comment